Monday, October 12, 2015

North Soccer To Hold Silver Anniversary Alumni Game at Lighthouse Field on October 24th.

The Falcons will hold its 25th Anniversary Alumni Game at historic Lighthouse Field on Saturday, October 24 with kickoff slated for 3 PM.  Jerry "Hugo Boss" Brindisi is designing the game day jerseys.  The post-game ceremony will be held at the newly renovated Bobby Ts at Almond and Venango.  A donation is asked of $50. All funds go to help kids stay in Catholic schools. For more information, please call Jerry Brindisi at 215-906-8496 or Joe Steffa at 215-783-8020.

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Ed Lowry, Falcon Booter and Hall of Famer Passes

Ed Lowry, Class of 62 passed after a coureagous battle with cancer on Monday, April 13th. Ed was just honored with his induction to North Soccer's Hall of Fame, honoring the greats who wore the red and white.  Ed will be sorely missed by his family, his North friends and all those he helped throughout his life. Please keep his family in your prayers.

Monday, March 2, 2015

2015 Hall of Fame Class Unveiled

It is that time of year again, when we recognize some of our finest individuals for their achievements on and off the field. The group  this year is second to none.  Like the classes before them, this class continues to elevate North Catholic soccer as the Best of the Best.  And now introducing the newest members of North Catholic Soccer Hall of Fame:

John Meehan Class of 1953 - All-Scholastic, City Champion, 1st Team All-American for US Naval Academy, Navy Athletic Hall of Fame

Walt Manning Class of 1954 - City Champion Goalkeeper, U-19 State Champs for Lighthouse BC, Temple University Regional All-American, Pro-player Uhrick Truckers, Ukrainian Nationals, Ursinus Men's Soccer Coach, SE PA Soccer Hall of Fame

Ed Lowry Class of 1962 - All-Catholic, 2 time PCL Champion, co-founder of Philadelphia Veterans Multi-Service Center.

Jerry McGovern Class of 1967 - All-Catholic, 2-time PCL Champion.

Bill "Tigger" Kiger Class of 1980 - All-Catholic, 3-time PCL & City Champion (one of only 2 in NC history), Drexel University (1980-84)

Marc Eckert Class of 1988 - 2-time All-Catholic, All-City, All-State, LaSalle University, 1988 MAAC Rookie of the year, 2nd team All-MAAC, 1999 US Open Amateur Soccer Club Champion

John Wright Class of 1996 - 2-time All-Catholic, All-City, PCL MVP 1995, Temple U.

Tim Greer Class of 2002  - 2-time All-Catholic, All-City, PCL MVP 2001, 2-time PCL Champion, Temple University (2002-2005)

Also this year, we will recognize the undefeated and untied team from 1962 (19-0-0).  This was the only team in the 60s to win both a catholic league title and a city championship.

We currently have 4 members of this team in our hall.  They are John Boles, Larry Grebe, Jack Ruggero and Mike Wissman - Congrats to all the members of the 1962 team.

Come celebrate these honored graduates with a Banquet on Sunday, March 29, 2015 at Romano's Catering (Wingohocking near Castor ave) from 2pm - 6pm.  pre-banquet tailgating begins at 11am in the Romano's parking lot.  For tickets to this great event contact Jerry Brindisi on 215-906-8496 - email: or Joe Steffa 215-783-8020 - email: